About the ANA

By commanding the industry agenda, shaping the future of marketing, and championing marketing excellence, the ANA enhances career development, and advances, promotes, and protects the interests of marketers. Learn more about the value of becoming an ANA member at:

Leadership and Marketing Excellence

The ANA (Association of National Advertisers) provides leadership that advances marketing excellence and shapes the future of the industry. Founded in 1910, ANA’s membership includes more than 1,000 companies with 15,000 brands that collectively spend or support more than $250 billion in marketing and advertising annually. The ANA also includes the Business Marketing Association (BMA) and the Brand Activation Association (BAA) which operate as divisions of the ANA, and the Advertising Educational Foundation which is an ANA subsidiary. The ANA makes a difference through advancing the interests of marketers and promotes and protects the well-being of the marketing community.


A Message from Our CEO, Bob Liodice

The ANA’s mission is to provide leadership that advances marketing excellence and shapes the future of our industry. We make a difference by advancing members’ brands through content that drives marketing excellence and moving the marketplace forward through industry leadership. We are committed to delivering superior products and resources to help our members’ brands grow and thrive. I invite you to learn more about how the ANA makes a difference to members.

ANA's History

  • 1911

    Chevron and Coca Cola join the ANA join as members of the ANA.
  • 1912

    Kodak and Johnson & Johnson join as members of the ANA.
  • 1913

    P&G and GE join the ANA join as members of the ANA.
  • 1914

    ANA created the Audit Bureau of Circulations for print periodicals.
  • 1932

    Paul West becomes the ANA’s first full-time president.
  • 1934

    ANA and industry groups form the Traffic Audit Bureau.
  • 1936

    Advertising Research Foundation (ARF) founded with 4A's
  • 1960

    Peter W. Allport becomes the ANA’s second president.
  • 1984

    Dewitt F. Helm Jr. becomes the ANA's third president.
  • 1988

    ANA and other trade orgs combine to form the Ad Tax Coalition.
  • 1994

    John Sarsen becomes the ANA's fourth president.
  • 1996

    With a coalition of 40 advertisers, the FFPF was created.
  • 2003

    Bob Liodice becomes the ANA's fifth president.
  • 2010

    ANA celebrates its 100th year.
  • 2014

    ANA acquires BAA and BMA.
  • 2015

    AEF becomes a subsidiary of the ANA.


view more videos



view all events