ANA Announces Finalists for 2011 Multicultural Excellence Awards

Advertisers Honored in Nine Categories

September 28, 2011, New York, NY - The ANA (Association of National Advertisers) today announced the finalists for the 2011 Multicultural Excellence Awards.  Currently in its 11th year, the awards recognize ANA member companies and other marketers for their outstanding work in producing multicultural advertising campaigns that ran between June 2010 and June 2011.

The 2011 grand prize winner in each category will be announced at a ceremony during ANA's 13th Annual Multicultural Marketing & Diversity Conference.  The event will take place November 6th - 8th at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach in Miami, FL.  For more information about the conference, including the full agenda, please visit

The brand and agency finalists in each of the nine categories include:

African American

  • Ford Motor Company, Uniworld Group
  • General Motors, Spike DDB
  • Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc., Burrell Communications Group


  • California Department of Public Health, A Partnership Inc.
  • McDonald's USA, IW Group, Inc.
  • Verizon Wireless, Adasia Communications

 Campaign with Significant Results

  • Kraft Singles, Lopez Negrete Communications
  • PepsiCo, Mekanism
  • Visit Florida, Alma DDB

 Digital Media

  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, IW Group Inc.
  • PepsiCo, Mekanism
  • Toyota Motor Sales, InterTrend Communications

 General Market Category

  • General Motors, Spike DDB
  • Miller Coors, Commonground
  • North Carolina Health and Wellness Trust Fund, Capstrat


  • American Airlines, Zubi Advertising Services
  • National Basketball Association, Bromley Communications
  • The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company, Grupo Gallegos


  • ABSOLUT VODKA, SPI Marketing
  • Allstate Insurance Co., Leo Burnett
  • American Airlines, TM Advertising


  • American Airlines, Burrell Communications Group
  • Capital One Bank, Capital One Brand Creative
  • United States Marine Corp., Uniworld Group


  • Latino Cultural Center, Dieste
  • Procter & Gamble, Lapiz
  • Target, Grupo Gallegos

The awards are sponsored by the ANA Multicultural Marketing & Diversity Committee.  Established in 1998, the committee sits at the intersection of multicultural marketing and diversity management.  Its mission is to educate and inform members on key topics and issues relevant to today's multicultural marketers and diversity leaders. A portion of the proceeds collected from the awards submission fees will be used to help fund scholarships for multicultural students who plan to pursue careers in advertising and /or marketing.

# # #

About the ANA

Founded in 1910, the ANA (Association of National Advertisers) leads the marketing community by providing its members with insights, collaboration, and advocacy. ANA's membership includes 400 companies with 10,000 brands that collectively spend over $250 billion in marketing communications and advertising. The ANA strives to communicate marketing best practices, lead industry initiatives, influence industry practices, manage industry affairs, and advance, promote, and protect all advertisers and marketers. For more information, visit, follow us on Twitter, join us on Facebook, or visit our YouTube channel.

Press Contacts:

Luna Newton
CooperKatz & Co. for the ANA

Shoshana Hochdorf
CooperKatz& Co. for the ANA