ANA and NATAS Join Together to Recognize Excellence in Broadband Advertising

Advertisers Eligible to Win Emmy Awards; Nominees to be Announced at ANA Annual Conference

New York, NY - In recognition of the key role that advertisers play in developing content for new media, the ANA (Association of National Advertisers) and the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) have joined together to put the spotlight on nominees for the 59th Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards, which honor excellence in the use, creativity and adaptation of technology that enhances or improves the consumer experience with media. This announcement was made today by Bob Liodice, President/CEO, ANA, and Peter Price, President/CEO, NATAS.

The nominees will be announced at the ANA Annual Conference, which will be held at the Arizona Biltmore in Phoenix from October 11-14, 2007. For the second year in a row, the winners will be announced and Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards will be presented at Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas on January 7, 2008.

"As we have already begun to see, marketers willing to take advantage of emerging forms of media can reap great rewards with their consumers," said Mr. Liodice. "It is a great honor for us to commend those who are experimenting with these avenues, and forging the way for others in the industry."

"Our Emmy Awards for commercials recognize the key role advertisers are playing in developing technological approaches and creative use of the internet, cell phones and personal media players as well as interactive television," said Mr. Price. "Clearly advertisers are using new media in unprecedented ways - ways that deserve Emmy Award recognition." Last year, NATAS presented its first Emmy Award for the best use by an advertiser of new media platforms and technology to TiVo Inc. for its Interactive Advertising Platform.

This year, advertisers and their agencies are eligible to enter the Emmy Awards competition in four categories, for work distributed between May 1, 2006 and April 30, 2007. These categories include:

  1. Best use of commercial advertising on stand-alone broadband devices
  2. Best use of creation and distribution of interactive commercial advertising delivered through portable broadband devices
  3. Best use of creation and distribution of interactive commercial advertising delivered through multi-channel broadband devices (such as set top boxes)
  4. Best use of broadband for the development and delivery of commercial advertising in video games.

All entries must be postmarked on or before August 31. Guidelines, rules, and the official entry form can be found at

# # #

About ANA
The Association of National Advertisers leads the marketing community by providing its members insights, collaboration and advocacy. ANA's membership includes 400 companies with 9,000 brands that collectively spend over $100 billion in marketing communications and advertising. The ANA strives to communicate marketing best practices, lead industry initiatives, influence industry practices, manage industry affairs and advance, promote and protect all advertisers and marketers. For more information, visit

The National Television Academy is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts and Entertainment, Public & Community Service, Technology & Engineering, and Business & Financial Reporting. Beginning in 2006, The National Television Academy began recognizing programming produced for the internet, cell phones, and portable media players with its new Broadband Emmy Award for Outstanding Achievement in Content for Broadband and Portable Delivery. Excellence in Primetime programming and international programming is recognized by its affiliate, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Regional Emmys are given in 19 regions across the United States. Beyond awards, the National Television Academy has extensive educational programs including National Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at

Press Contacts:

Cheryl Daly

Lesley Weiner
CooperKatz & Company for the ANA